top of page

Our History

Couvent.JPG

LE COUVENT SAINT FRANÇOIS © LAURA STEVENS

The Story of Eau de Couvent

 

An artist, a former convent, an ancient crystal bottle…
 

Eau de Couvent came to life when its creator, Candida Romero, a French-Puerto Rican artist, chanced upon the 13th century Convent of San Francescu on the island of Corsica. The former convent, originally built in 1216 and despite its historic importance in Corsican history, had been left in disrepair. Over two decades later Candida initiated a project to restore the domaine making it the wellspring of her artistic practice and fine fragrance creations. 
 
Located in Corsica's northernmost landscape, whose untamed beauty enchanted Candida, the Convent of San Francescu is nestled among the vineyards and natural maquis at the base of the perched village of Oletta, close to the port of Saint Florent. The convent’s impressive scale allowed Candida to create several art studios and over the past decade to establish an art residency in part financed by the fine fragrance line she created, inspired by the scents of the surrounding maquis plants.
 
By undertaking the challenging renovations of a 700 year old abandoned domaine, Candida sought not only to revive the convent’s rich history and the mysteries reigning supreme over its ancient chapel, but also to contain — and share with the world — the reinvigorating, healing sensuality of the untamed Corsican landscape. Here in this rich wilderness, the maquis, green and leafy despite their arid surroundings, and the fruits, ripening beneath the scorching sun, exude their distinctive scent.

 

Then, one day… 

 

while wandering through the high grass of the Corsican scrub, the artist came across a crystal bottle, from which emanated such a mystical fragrance, at once delicate and sultry, that she felt she must immortalize it at all costs — especially since the legend ran that a nun gave it to a young officer as a token of love. 
 
What more romantic way to reveal the secrets of the Nebbio region than in a fine fragrance?

And so, Candida’s desire to restore the Convent of San Francescu and to share with the world the untouched beauty of the northern Corsica coastline, has given rise to seven artisan fragrances in the Eau de Couvent line, founded in 2010. 
We expand the fragrance and cosmetic collection each year - so stay tuned online or at our Saint Germain-des-Près flagship store.

This Spring, 2024, we launch our Rosa la Rose fragrance marked by Beauty Matter

Our Credo

Eau de Couvent is an olfactory experience that invites you to abandon yourself to passion.
 
We seek authenticity and transparency in our ingredients, their sources, and our ethos. Our products are Certified Ecocert, meaning we use only the highest quality nature-based materials, with 98% of our ingredients sourced naturally in the Mediterranean basin — on the island of Corsica and in Grasse, France. To incorporate scents from rare flowers or far-flung sites, we use small quantities of select synthesized ingredients in our essential oils, thus helping to protect the natural landscape and reducing the carbon footprint of our creations.
 
We believe in spreading compassion for all and protecting the balance and beauty of nature. To that end, Eau de Couvent donates a 15% percentage of our profits to philanthropic associations, and has established both the Corsican Art Project Residency (CAP/r), a non-profit artist initiative aimed at providing a platform for contemporary artists via residency and exhibition space at the San Francescu Convent. The San Francescu Endowment expands the CAP/r initiatives to include planet-positive creative work, such as regenerative landscape and adaptive reuse.
 
We are moved primarily by an artistic experience of the world, by artists and individuals who obscure the line between the sacred and the profane, passion and prayer, art and devotion, demonstrated in our olfactory products. 

Our Founder

Candida Romero is a French-Puerto Rican artist born in Paris. She was raised in La Ruche, a Parisian artist community, where she continues to work in Chagall's original studio. Candida's body of work and solo exhibits reflect her peripatetic, multiracial, and artistic upbringing, combining photography, collage, overpainting and calligraphic notations, frequently inspired by historical texts that explore themes of desire, identity, and loss.
 
In parallel to her work as an artist, Candida had created an artist residency program, the Corsican Art Project Residency, at the San Francescu Convent in order to connect and support contemporary artists from diverse backgrounds, to help artists foster a dialogue with the island and the grounds of the historical convent, and to demonstrate — as she has done in her own life — the critical role artists play in creating vibrant and sustainable communities..

Candida Romero.png
bottom of page

top of page

Notre Histoire

Couvent.JPG

LE COUVENT SAINT FRANÇOIS © LAURA STEVENS

L'Histoire d'Eau de Couvent

 

Une artiste, un ancien couvent, une ancienne bouteille de cristal...

 

Eau de Couvent est née lorsque sa créatrice, Candida Romero, une artiste franco-portoricaine, a découvert par hasard le couvent de San Francescu, datant du XIIIe siècle, sur l'île de Corse. L'ancien couvent, construit à l'origine en 1216 et malgré son importance historique dans l'histoire de la Corse, avait été laissé à l'abandon. Plus de deux décennies plus tard, Candida a lancé un projet de restauration du domaine, qui est devenu la source de sa pratique artistique et de ses créations de parfums fins. 
 
Situé dans le paysage le plus septentrional de la Corse, dont la beauté sauvage a enchanté Candida, le couvent de San Francescu est niché parmi les vignobles et le maquis naturel au pied du village perché d'Oletta, à proximité du port de Saint Florent. La taille impressionnante du couvent a permis à Candida et à son compagnon de créer plusieurs studios d'art et, au cours de la dernière décennie, d'établir une résidence artistique en partie financée par la ligne de parfumerie fine qu'elle a créée, inspirée par les senteurs des plantes du maquis environnant.
 
En entreprenant les rénovations difficiles d'un domaine abandonné vieux de 700 ans, Candida a cherché non seulement à faire revivre la riche histoire du couvent et les mystères régnant en maître sur son ancienne chapelle, mais aussi à contenir - et à partager avec le monde - la sensualité revigorante et curative du paysage corse indompté. Ici, dans cette riche nature sauvage, le maquis, vert et feuillu malgré son aridité, et les fruits, qui mûrissent sous le soleil brûlant, exhalent leur parfum caractéristique.

 

Puis, un jour... 

 

En se promenant dans les hautes herbes du maquis corse, l'artiste tombe sur un flacon de cristal d'où émane un parfum si mystique, à la fois délicat et sulfureux, qu'il lui faut à tout prix l'immortaliser, d'autant plus que la légende veut qu'une religieuse l'ait offert à un jeune officier en gage d'amour. 
 
Quoi de plus romantique que de révéler les secrets de la région du Nebbio à travers un bon parfum ?

Ainsi, le désir de Candida de restaurer le couvent de San Francescu et de partager avec le monde la beauté intacte du littoral nord-corse a donné naissance à sept parfums artisanaux dans la ligne Eau de Couvent, créée en 2010. 
Nous élargissons la collection de parfums et de cosmétiques chaque année - restez à l'écoute en ligne ou dans notre magasin phare de Saint Germain-des-Près.

Au printemps 2024, nous lancerons le parfum Rosa la Rose, marqué par Beauty Matter.

Notre Credo

L'Eau de Couvent est une expérience olfactive qui vous invite à vous abandonner à la passion.
 
Nous recherchons l'authenticité et la transparence dans nos ingrédients, leurs sources et notre éthique. Nos produits sont certifiés Ecocert, ce qui signifie que nous n'utilisons que des matériaux naturels de la plus haute qualité. 98% de nos ingrédients proviennent naturellement du bassin méditerranéen - sur l'île de Corse et à Grasse, en France. Pour incorporer des senteurs de fleurs rares ou de sites éloignés, nous utilisons de petites quantités d'ingrédients synthétiques sélectionnés dans nos huiles essentielles, contribuant ainsi à protéger le paysage naturel et à réduire l'empreinte carbone de nos créations.
 
Nous croyons en la compassion pour tous et en la protection de l'équilibre et de la beauté de la nature. À cette fin, Eau de Couvent reverse un pourcentage de 15 % de ses bénéfices à des associations philanthropiques et a créé le Corsican Art Project Residency (CAP/r), une initiative artistique à but non lucratif visant à offrir une plateforme aux artistes contemporains par le biais d'une résidence et d'un espace d'exposition au Couvent San Francescu. La dotation San Francescu élargit les initiatives CAP/r pour inclure un travail créatif positif pour la planète, tel que le paysage régénératif et la réutilisation adaptative.
 
Nous sommes principalement touchés par une expérience artistique du monde, par des artistes et des individus qui obscurcissent la ligne entre le sacré et le profane, la passion et la prière, l'art et la dévotion, comme en témoignent nos produits olfactifs. 

Notre Fondatrice

Candida Romero est une artiste franco-portoricaine née à Paris. Elle a grandi à La Ruche, une communauté d'artistes parisiens, où elle continue à travailler dans l'atelier original de Chagall. Le travail de Candida et ses expositions individuelles reflètent son éducation péripatéticienne, multiraciale et artistique, combinant la photographie, le collage, la surpeinture et les notations calligraphiques, fréquemment inspirés par des textes historiques qui explorent les thèmes du désir, de l'identité et de la perte.
 
Parallèlement à son travail d'artiste, Candida et l'architecte américain Tim Culbert ont créé un programme de résidence d'artiste, le Corsican Art Project Residency, au couvent San Francescu, afin de mettre en relation et de soutenir des artistes contemporains d'horizons divers, d'aider les artistes à établir un dialogue avec l'île et le site du couvent historique, et de démontrer - comme elle l'a fait dans sa propre vie - le rôle essentiel que jouent les artistes dans la création de communautés vivantes et durables.

Candida Romero.png
bottom of page